top of page

Sports Awards 2021

Avondale College was delighted to acknowledge the achievements of our top sports players at the special (socially distanced!) Sports Awards presentation held at school on Friday 5 November.

First on the programme saw the restarting of an old tradition for Avondale College - the presentation of rugby caps to players who have played 20 games or more for the College's 1st XV. They were followed by the presentation of BOT Scholarships to promising young athletes, trophies for summer and winter codes, and then the final special sporting awards.

The event finished with a videoed guest appearance by Avondale College's very own Olympian, weightlifter Kanah Andrews-Nahu, who gave our students an inspirational and encouraging message.

Congratulations to all students, staff and Avcol community champions who received awards at this event!

For more photos of the event, see our Heartbeat Newsletter

Avondale College Sports Awards 2021

BOT Scholarships:

The Avondale College Board of Trustees Scholarships are presented to senior students who have already been identified as talented athletes in their sport or sports and have already performed at a high level have participated fully within and shown a commitment to the Avondale College programme. Most importantly, the award of $200 is designed to encourage them to continue to progress in their sporting education at college level and above all, help to fully develop the potential they have shown.

Savannah Va’a

Shalom Asovale-Tanuvasa (Y10)

Mikayla Donuvakayanuyanu

Tia’ana Donuvakayanuyanu

Manaia Raymond

Oliver Groube (Y10)

Aryan Walanj

Jacob Laurence

Wiremu Ngamotu

Didier Nunez-Gutierrez

Jimi Iosia-Sipel



Athletics Trophy - Intermediate Girls Field Athletics Champion Natalya Tavleev

Athletics Trophy - Intermediate Girls Track Athletics Champion Georgia Whelan

Clemmett Cup - Intermediate Boys Track Athletics Champion Aryan Walanj

Pennefather Cup - Intermediate Boys Field Champion Mose Faaumuumu Timo

Athletics Cup - Senior Girls Track Athletics Champion Joanna Poland

Athletics Cup - Senior Girls Field Athletics Champion Hayley Greenhalgh

Bonnetti Cup - Senior Boys Track Champion Lex Revell-Lewis


Badminton Cup - Boys Badminton Champion Chi Lam Ng

Badminton Cup - Girls Badminton Champion Yee Xuan Ng

Basketball - Boys

Basketball Trophy - Most Improved Senior Basketball Player Kabir Bhargava

Northover Trophy - Most Valuable Premier Boys Basketball Jimi Iosia-Sipeli

Basketball – Girls

Bugs-a-Lugs Cup - Most Improved Senior Girls Basketball Player Tikenati Raion

Cheryl Miller Trophy - Most Outstanding Player Senior Girls Basketball Maraea Whiu

Cricket - Boys

Brooking Cup - Best Batting Average 1st XI Boys Kishan Patel

Wright Cup - Best All Round Cricketer Mohit Kandpal

Bracewell Trophy - Most Outstanding Bowler Ryan Smardon

Cricket - Girls

Cricket Cup - Most Improved Girls Player Isabella (Izzy) Simmons

Cricket Cup - Outstanding Player 1st XI Girls Cricket Shahana Samadi

Aish Cup - Contribution to Girls Cricket Marisa Peiris

Cross Country

Cross Country Trophy - Senior Girls Cross Country & Distance Champion Joanna Poland

Graeme Edmonds Memorial - Intermediate Boys Cross Country & Distance Champion Wiremu Ngamotu

Lyndale Cup - Senior Boys Cross Country & Distance Champion Ayub Sayid

Football - Boys

Gavin Cup - Most Promising 1st XI Boys Football Player Didier Gutierrez Nunez

McIntyre Cup - Most Improved Player 1st XI Football Levi Burdon

Cossey Cup - Best All Round Boys Football Player Shayen Kesha

Lowie Cup - Player's Player Milan Kesha

Football - Girls

Dean Cup - Most Improved Senior Girls Player Sandra Kumar

Low Cup - Girls 1st XI Player of the Year Roshni Oberoi

Thompson Trophy - Contribution to Girls Football Yada Phimsee

Hockey - Boys

Hockey Cup - Most Improved 1st XI Boys Player Ritik Billimoria

Marshall Cup - Best All Round Senior Boys Hockey Player Hersh Patel

Daji Trophy - Contribution and Participation for Hockey Rahul Naickar

Hockey - Girls

Allen Cup - Most Improved 1st XI Girls Hockey Player Nikita Toledo-Macdonald

Familton Cup - Senior Girls Best All Round Hockey Player Sophie Rose

Jones Trophy - Contribution to Girls Hockey Tilde Wilson


Lacrosse Award - Contributions to Girls Lacrosse Julia (Chelsea) Garingo

Lacrosse Award - Most Valuable Girls Lacrosse Player Aayushi Patel

Lacrosse Award - Most Improved Girls Lacrosse Player Imogen Tommy


King Cup - Most Improved Senior Netball Player Losimani Latu

Netball Trophy - Contribution to Netball Ruta Rasmussen

Netball Cup - Best All Round Netball Player Lynelle (Fisilau) Braganza

Rugby - Boys

Hutton Cup - Rugby Team with Best Season Record 2nd XV Rugby Team

Transport Cup - Most Improved 1st XV Player Hansell Ioane

Touring Cup - Most Valuable Player 1st XV Isireli Senibulu

Suburbs Trophy - Most Outstanding Rugby Player Flynn Cochrane